Concealed Handgun Licenses in Oregon are effective for 4 years and then must be renewed. Please allow plenty of time to get your documents together and schedule your renewal appointment so that your CHL does not expire. Here’s what you need to do to renew your CHL…
STEP ONE: Schedule an Appointment
Call (541) 766-6606 to schedule your CHL appointment. YOU MUST HAVE A SCHEDULED APPOINTMENT to submit your renewal materials. We recommend you call our office at least 30 days before your current license is due to expire.
Appointments are available on Tuesdays and Thursdays between 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m.
STEP TWO: Complete and Gather Required Documentation
Application for License to Carry Concealed Handgun
Complete the "Application for License to Carry Concealed Handgun". This two-page form is part of the CHL Application Packet.
Current Concealed Handgun License
You will need to bring your most current Concealed Handgun License - the one you are renewing - with you to your appointment.
Proof of Residency
You must show that you live within the boundaries of Benton County. Examples of documents accepted as proof of residency include a driver’s license displaying a current Benton County address or proof that you own or lease property within Benton County. For a complete listing of documents acceptable to prove residence, refer to Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 166.291.
CHL Expired? Proof of Citizenship Also Required
If your CHL has expired, you will also need to bring in Proof of Citizenship. This is in addition to the documents listed above. Proof of Citizenship can be your birth certificate, passport, or appropriate INS (Immigration and Naturalization Service) form.
STEP THREE: Arrive for Your Appointment as Scheduled with Documents and Fees
Come to the Second Floor of the Law Enforcement Building, 180 NW 5th Street, Corvallis, for your appointment.
The fee for a Renewal CHL is $50.00. We do not accept debit or credit cards. You may pay your fee with a check, money order, or cash. Make checks or money orders out to: “Benton County Sheriff’s Office.” If paying in cash, exact change is required.
A new photo of you will be taken at your appointment.
Need More Information?
For more information, or to schedule an appointment, please call (541) 766-6606.