Concealed Handgun License
COVID-19 Update, EFFECTIVE May 28, 2020. The CHL office will reopened by appointment only beginning June 1, 2020.
In person Original CHL application, Transfer CHL application and Renewal CHL application appointments are now being scheduled.
The ability to mail in CHL renewals will continue only through June 2020, by following the outlined procedure: (mailed in Renewal applications received after June 30, will be returned and an in person appointment will be required)
You will need to mail the following to the Sheriff's Office:
• A completed application, and
• A $50 renewal fee (check or money order made out to BCSO) or
• A $15 address change or replacement fee (check or money order made out to BCSO)
After the background check process is complete, your renewed CHL will be sent to you in the mail. This process is temporary and under special circumstances; it will not be available during your next renewal cycle.
Benton County Sheriff’s Office
180 NW 5th Street
Corvallis, OR 97330
Attn: CHL Unit
Any questions or to schedule your CHL appointment call 541-766-6606
By Oregon law if you want to carry a firearm concealed upon your person, or concealed and readily accessible within a vehicle, you must have a concealed handgun license (CHL).
If you live in Benton County you MUST make an appointment with the Benton County Sheriff's Office to apply for your license. To schedule an appointment, call (541) 766-6606.
You will need to gather and bring all required documentation to your appointment. Follow the steps in "How to Apply" below.
Fees for Concealed Handgun Licenses are listed below:
- Original License: $65.00
- Renewal License: $50.00
- Transfer License: $30.00
- Transfer and Renewal License (at the same time): $65.00
- Replacement License (Address Change or Lost/Stolen Licenses): $15.00
We accept Cash (exact change only), Checks, or Money Orders. Please make checks or money orders payable to "Benton County Sheriff's Office." Sorry, but we do not accept debit or credit cards.
Criminal background checks are conducted on all CHL applicants as specified by law. This is to ensure applicants do not have any felony convictions, no misdemeanor convictions in the last four years, no drug offenses, no warrants for their arrest, are not in diversion, and have not been committed by the State for mental illness, among others.
How to Apply
Your application process will differ depending on whether you are applying for an original license, a renewal license, a replacement license, or want to transfer your CHL from another Oregon county to Benton County.
All forms and instructions to apply are available in the CHL Application Packet. This packet can be picked up from the main lobby of the Law Enforcement Building, 180 NW 5th Street, Corvallis, or downloaded from this website.
Learn what you must do, by clicking on the type of license you need...
Need More Information?
For more information, or to schedule an appointment, please call (541) 766-6606.