Burn backyard debris safely
A burn pile is less likely to escape control if these simple safety tips are followed:
- Call before you burn – Burning regulations are not the same in all areas and can vary with weather and fuel conditions. If you’re planning to burn, check with your local ODF district, fire protective association, or air protection authority to learn if there are any current burning restrictions in effect, and whether a permit is required.
- City of Corvallis: 541-766-6971
- City of Philomath: 541-929-5903
- Linn County: 541-451-1904
- Oregon Department of Forestry: 541-929-3266
- Know the weather forecast – Never burn on dry or windy days. These conditions make it easy for an open burn to spread out of control.
- Clear a 10-foot radius around your pile – Also make sure there are no tree branches or power lines above.
- Keep your burn pile small - A large burn may cast hot embers long distances. Small piles, 4 x 4 feet, are recommended. Add debris in small amounts as existing material is consumed.
- Always have water and fire tools on site – When burning, have a charged water hose, bucket of water, and shovel and dirt nearby to extinguish the fire. Drown the pile with water, stir the coals, and drown again, repeating till the fire is DEAD out.
- Stay with the fire until it is completely out – Monitoring a debris burn from start to finish until dead out is required by state law to ensure that any escaped sparks or embers can be extinguished quickly. Go back and recheck old burn piles, as they can retain heat for several weeks and then rekindle when the weather warms and wind begins to blow.
- Never use gasoline or other accelerants (flammable or combustible liquids) to start or increase your open fire. Every year, 10 to 15 percent of all burn injuries treated at the Oregon Burn Center in Portland are the result of backyard debris burning.
- Burn only yard debris – State regulations prohibit the open burning of any material that creates dense smoke or noxious odors.
- Escaped debris burns are costly – State law requires the proper clearing, building, attending and extinguishing of open fires any time of year. A first-time citation carries a $110 fine. If your debris burn spreads out of control, you are responsible for the cost of fire suppression and very likely the damage to neighboring properties. This can range from a few hundred to tens of thousands of dollars.