Advisory Board

Advisory Board Meetings Are Held The Second Wednesday Of Each Month at 6:00 pm at the Avery Building - 360 SW Avery Ave.  UPDATE: Due to COVID precautions these meetings are currently held via video GoTO Meetings online.  If you would like to attend a meeting please contact Benton County Staff Admin Leanna Buck at or call her at (541) 766-6521 to request the meeting password. 

Function Of The Parks Advisory Board

The Advisory Board shall assist the Benton County Board of Commissioners, and shall have the following powers and duties:

  • Render advice and recommendations to the Board of Commissioners on all matters submitted by the Commissioners to the Advisory Board for its consideration
  • Initiate advice to the Board of Commissioners based on the observations of park operations, public concerns as expressed to the Advisory Board, concerns of individual Advisory Board members, and Natural Areas and Parks Department staff input
  • Provide leadership and promote cooperation between public and private organizations in the provision of adequate recreational opportunities for the people of Benton County
  • Safeguard and represent the public interest in park issues and encourage citizen participation in and support of park programs


The Advisory Board shall consist of nine members, appointed by the Board of Commissioners. Terms shall be four years. Any member may serve two successive terms if reappointed by the Board of Commissioners. Terms begin on July 1 and end on June 30. Terms shall be staggered, with three members' terms expiring each year.

Current Board Members

David Smith, Chairman Elizabeth Spatafora
Kevin Chambers Phil Hays
Vacant Tomi Douglas, Executive Director of Natural Areas Parks and Events
Bryce Downey Jesse Ott, Parks Deputy Director
John Turner Adam Stebbins, Natural Resource Coordinator
Carol Walsh Leanna Buck, Parks Recorder