Community Development Home

360 SW Avery Ave Location

The Benton County Community Development Department houses the Building Division and Planning Division. This department also oversees implementation of the Sustainability and Storm water Programs. 


Building Permit Counter:

Please note: The Building Permit Counter will close at 3:30 pm today (Thursday, February 20th)

*Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday - 8:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. | Wednesday - 9:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. 
(Closed during lunch from 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm.)
A Permit Tech is on call during Building Permit counter hours to help you with permit submittals and general building questions. 

Please allow at least 30 minutes for permit processing. For example, if you arrive after 4:00 P.M. we may not be able to serve you. Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing permits that do not require plan review can be applied for by licensed contractors 24/7 online using ePermitting.

Planning Counter:

*Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday - 8:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. | Wednesday - 10:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
A Planner is on call during Planning counter hours to help you with general planning questions. 

If you are working with a particular planner on an application, have flood plain questions (Toby Lewis), detailed water permitting questions (Kristin Anderson), code compliance (Rebecca Taylor), or historic preservation questions (Inga Williams), please call ahead and make an appointment with them.   541-766-6819

*These are usual open counter times but they can change depending on when the weekly staff meetings are scheduled.  You are welcome to call ahead at 541-766-6819 to check if the counter is open.

Our mission is to make Benton County a better place to live.