Nancy Wyse, Commissioner

Nancy Wyse was elected to the Board of Commissioners in November 2020.

Previously, Wyse served as as Vice President of the Corvallis City Council, and as Vice Chair of the Corvallis Budget Commission and South Corvallis Urban Renewal Agency. Wyse served as a member of the Benton County Planning Commission, Benton County Budget Committee, League of Oregon Cities Telecom, Cable, & Broadband Policy Committee, 2020 Census Complete Count Committee, and Benton County Democrats Elected Precinct Committee Person, precinct 6. Wyse also acted as a liaison to the Corvallis-Benton County Economic Advisory Board, Corvallis Chamber of Commerce, and The Economic Vitality Partnership.

She currently serves as a member to the Community Health Centers of Benton and Linn Counties Board; liaison to the City of Philomath and Monroe; member of the Association of Oregon Counties, Benton County Labor Management Committee and Library Board, Oregon Cascades West Economic Development District, South Valley Regional Solutions Advisory Committee and Southern Willamette Valley Groundwater Management Area.

In her community role, Wyse also works with the United Way with Benton and Linn Counties.

Commissioner Wyse can be reached by email at or phone at 541-766-6800.

Learn More

In early December 2017, the Board of Commissioners passed a resolution (3-0) that affirms the county’s commitment to addressing climate change, reducing greenhouse gas emission and developing a climate action plan.

The Board joins Oregon State Government, nine local governments, thirteen colleges and universities, and more than 50 organizations and private businesses within Oregon by signing the “We Are Still In” pledge to institute and implement the intent of the 2015 Paris Climate Agreement.

En Español

The 2040 Thriving Communities Initiative—a community-driven effort led by local leaders—culminated more than a year of extensive public outreach and engagement by finalizing the community’s Core Values in early February 2018.

They are as follows:

At the regular Dec. 6, 2016 board meeting, the Benton County commissioners declared Benton County a “sanctuary county” and formally adopted the written declaration at today's Dec. 20, 2016 board meeting.

Following the November general election, an increasing number of higher education institutions and municipalities declared sanctuary status to support undocumented individuals and their families because President-elect Trump pledged mass deportations of undocumented immigrants during his campaign.

A portion of Benton County’s declaration reads:

Benton County elected officials were sworn in by officiating Judge David Connell this morning in Courtroom 2 at the Benton County Courthouse, 120 NW Fourth St., in Corvallis.