Benton County Board of Commissioners Office

The Benton County Board of Commissioners is composed of Xan Augerot, chair; Pat Malone, commissioner and Nancy Wyse, commissioner. 

The Board of Commissioners oversee all functions of county government services and set the budgets for the Sheriff’s Office and District Attorney’s Office. They act as executives, overseeing county operations; legislators, setting county ordinances; and also fill a quasi-judicial role in land use matters.

Benton County is one of nine Oregon counties with a home-rule charter. This provides greater control to our citizens. The voters decide what form they want their government to take. For example, the voters decide which county government positions are elected, such as the sheriff and commissioners.

According to the charter, Benton County must have three full-time elected commissioners to manage the legislative, executive and quasi-judicial responsibilities. Each commissioner is elected at-large to a four-year term. No individual commissioner has any more, or less, power than the others to act. Board action requires at least two of the commissioners to be in agreement.

Board of Commissioners meetings are open to the public. They are held the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of every month. Meetings are held at 205 NW 5th Street, in downtown Corvallis, Oregon, unless otherwise noted.

Stay informed about Benton County by signing up to receive our e-newsletter.